In 1906, Adolph Silverburg and Leonidas Bracken founded DeFur Voran in Muncie, Indiana to serve the needs of the county seat and local business community. As Muncie grew, so did the firm. Eventually our client roster included entities such as Ball State University and Ball Memorial Hospital, along with an increasing number of local businesses, non-profits, and governmental entities.

As we grew, we realized there was an opportunity to serve a larger client base in Central Indiana, and in 2003 we opened an office in Fishers. This enabled us to nearly double the number of attorneys on staff. Since then, we’ve added offices in New Castle and Lafayette, specialize in more areas of the law, and offer more comprehensive legal services for both businesses and individuals.

Throughout the years, we’ve maintained the belief that, in addition to being attorneys and business counselors, we are neighbors. As a firm, we are deeply involved in our communities. Our attorneys and staff make time to act as mentors, serve on boards, become involved, volunteer in their communities, lend financial support, and find new ways to apply their time and talents to causes they believe in.

Some of the organizations we are grateful for the opportunity to support include:

Academy for Community Leadership, Delaware County
Academy Place Apartments, Inc.
Alpha Gamma Delta Alumni Association
American Bar Association
American College of Trial Lawyers
America’s Hometown Band
Association of Indiana Counties
Awaken, Inc.
Ball Brothers Foundation
Ball State University
Ball State University Cardinal Varsity Club
Ball State University Foundation
Big Brothers / Big Sisters of Lafayette
Blue River Valley School Corporation Board of Trustees
Boulevard Food Pantry
Camp Crosley (YMCA)
Cardinal Greenways
Center for Inquiry School 27 PTSA
Center Grove Athletic Booster Club
Center Grove Education Foundation
Civic Theater of Greater Lafayette
Community Enhancement Projects, Inc.
Crohn’s and Colitis Foundation, Indiana Chapter
Delaware Community School Educational Foundation
Earlham College
East Central Indiana Chamber Orchestra
East Central Indiana Estate Planning Council
East Central Indiana Regional Development Authority
First Presbyterian Church
Fishers Music Works
Geist Half Marathon Board
George & Frances Ball Foundation
Greater Muncie Area Council on Youth Leadership
Greater Muncie, Indiana Habitat for Humanity, Inc
Hamer & Phyllis Shafer Foundation
Hamilton County Council on Aging
Hamilton County Humane Society
Hamilton Southeastern Education Foundation
Heart of Indiana United Way
Henry County Redevelopment Commission
Indiana Community Defenders
Indiana Judges Association
Indiana Parkinson Foundation
Indiana School Board Association – Legislative Committee
Indiana State Bar Association
Indiana State Bar Association – Elder Law Section
Indiana State Bar Association – Probate, Trust and Real Property Section
Indiana Trial Lawyers Association
Leadership Lafayette
Habitat for Humanity of Lafayette
Hamilton Southeastern Academy of Finance
Indiana Coalition Against Domestic Violence
Indianapolis Bar Association
ITOWN Church
Jackie L. Michael Foundation
Kappa Kappa Gamma – Mu Chapter Advisory Board
Kitselman Fund of the Community Foundation of Muncie & Delaware County
Kiwanis Club of Muncie
Leadership Johnson County at Franklin College
League of Women Voters
Legal Marketing Association
Minnetrista Advancement Committee
Mudsock Youth Athletics
Muncie Action Plan
Muncie Bar Association
Muncie Civic Theatre
Muncie Community Schools
Muncie Community Schools Board of Directors
Muncie Downtown Development Partnership
Muncie Young Professionals Group
Muncie-Delaware County BY5
Muncie-Delaware County Chamber of Commerce
National Academy of Elder Law Attorneys
National Association of College and University Attorneys
New Castle/Henry County Economic Development Corporation
New Life Presbyterian Church (Yorktown)
Peace Learning Center
Phi Beta Kappa
Phi Delta Theta
Presbytery of the Whitewater Valley
Pro Bono Clinic at CICOA
Psi Iota Xi
Purdue Extension – Delaware County
Ross Community Center
Roy C. Buley Center
Second Presbyterian Church, Indianapolis
Sherman & Marjorie Zeigler Foundation
Sigma Chi
St. Andrew Presbyterian Church
St. Thomas Aquinas Parish
Tangram, Inc.
Taylor University
Theta Chi
Tippecanoe County Bar Association
United Way of Delaware County
Wabash College
Whitewater Valley Pro Bono Commission
Women in Business Unlimited
YMCA of Muncie Executive Committee
Yorktown Community Schools Foundation
Young Lawyers Section of the Indiana State Bar Association
YWCA of Central Indiana